Umm, hi?

Life has a funny way to bringing all the things that you could ever want and all the things you prayed to never have. I have finally graduated college, fulfilling the dreams of my parents. And now, I am left with the responsibility to become a full functioning adult. I am expected to pay bills on time, with my own money, find a job that will both pursue my life-long dream (I still don’t know what that is) while having a really good pay off it and soon, find a husband that will love me and cherish my annoying ass.

Wow wow wow. If I knew all these were waiting for me, I would never have graduated. Stay in school, kids! For as long as you can.

But then again, maybe being an adult isn’t so bad. I mean, I am now fully responsible with my time. I can spend ALL DAY re-watching Gossip Girl and spend my 30’s still job hunting. Or I can work my ass off right now, and hopefully retire earlier than 65 years old. What a delight!

And so, this is me. A fresh graduate, wasting my time away on this blog. Because, what else am I to do? Seriously. Anybody? HELP????

PS. Don’t expect this will be my come-back post. I might be gone for another year. Again.

17 thoughts on “Umm, hi?

    1. A year without blogging, I didn’t think that was possible with me either. haha I guess, I lost inspiration along the way. As sad as that sounds. And there would be no point in saying sorry if I am only to do it again. 😦

      Thank you so much for still dropping by my blog Cassie. I’m glad someone is still interested on what I have to say. Cheers!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Congratulations Katrina! I hope you make a couple of right choices (being optimistic here) and learn from the bad ones. It’s all about timing and seeing ahead of time. But no matter what, adulthood is going to change you, and that’s not a bad thing. You’re pretty much fully responsible of yourself since you’re managing your own time. So be careful! Wish you the best! Pag amping gwapa! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Billy! I didn’t know you were still following my blog. Haha! I still have yet to figure out how to ‘adult’. Who would’ve thought after all those years in school, they never teach you a single thing about the ‘real world’?

      I hope you’re doing great, wherever you are right now (where exactly are you right now, btw?). Come back to Cebu, soon. Or I would have to meet you half a world away.

      Like

  2. πŸ™‚ Interesting read, thanks for the laughs. Sounds like you are stacking yourself up with quite a bit of pressure right off the bat. Dang! using big words like “full functioning adult” and retirement? Slow your roll Katrina, slow your roll πŸ˜‹. There will be plenty time for all that.

    There is something to be said about living in the now, while still being responsible. So congrats!! Breathe, enjoy it. Figure out your own dream, and swap it out for your parents, and in a few yrs, U’l probably swap it out for another new dream. Keep dreaming big God dreams…and maybe U’l find there is room to watch re-runs of Gossip Girl and work your ass off at same time. πŸ‘

    Like

  3. Hey Katrina please don’t give up! You’ll find something I know you will 😊 And please! Please! Please! Don’t give up your blog, keep on writing it’s good and I love it 😊 What kind of work are you looking for? If I can find something I’ll let you know and are you on LinkedIn because it’s real good.

    Like

    1. Hey bigdave1583, sorry to be able to reply to you just now. Thank you for your words, they mean a lot for someone so young and eager in this crazy world.

      I am looking for writing jobs as well as advertising/media/communications. I’m open to anything really. I have not pinpointed yet on what I want to do. Still as confused as ever. Haha! And yes, I’m on LinkedIn. You can add me at Katrina Labra (not sure how their search engine works but my name should come right up, i hope).

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hey Karina I’m so sorry my reply is so late and I’m so happy you’re not given up LinkedIn is really good I used it myself and that’s how I got this job. I’m David Harnden on LinkedIn it’s a very good tool to use I work for Calvin Klein and they have a great advertising and marking team so check them out and hit me up if you need anything my friend. Good luck!!!

        Like

  4. Take time and figure out what you love to do, otherwise if you don’t do what you love then it will just be work. And work is not fun, it’ll just be something that pays the bills.

    Like

  5. Congratulations on your Graduation Katrina!
    The world is a fabulous and glamorous place so looking to the future with knuckle biting excitement.
    Forget the hubby thing for now and enjoy the world!
    πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Hi – probably i am too late to comment here and you have already got your dream job however if that’s not the case 😦 why dont you sell your skill as a writer and earn money. Freelancers are earning very well these days. You can search about it online – for a quick start make a profile on “Upwork” and start bidding for writing jobs. Waiting to hear your success story πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thanks for this advice, Mohsin. I’m currently looking into writing jobs in my city as I am not yet too confident with my writing. It needs a bit of polishing as I got rusty over the months/years. Well, if all else fails, I might resort to blogging and see where that leads me. Haha! Thank you for reading. ❀

      Like

  7. Hi, Katrina. Congratulations on your graduation. Even if it was something you didn’t want to do, you should be proud. Perhaps you should be twice as proud because you persevered and overcame something you weren’t fully committed to. With that said, there now exists a “What next?” moment. I’m in a similar boat as you. I recently graduated with my second Bachelors’ degree. I graduated college, I worked in various places, I went back to college (to study something I enjoyed and for a career change, and now I have graduated again. What I’m trying to say is, don’t worry if it doesn’t work out right away. Life is all made up of choices that we need to make, and it is not always clear that we made the wrong choice until later. But, I believe it is important to make wrong decisions. Through them, we live and, if you’ll pardon the pun, we learn. There were times when I regretted going back to college. I felt it might’ve been a waste of time and that I should’ve just looked for work in the field that I wanted. However, I am glad that I saw it through.

    Here’s some advice that I think might help:

    – Take some time off. Whether it’s a week or a month, take time off even if it’s just to sit and home all day and relax. Your mind needs it and so does your body.

    – Do something you enjoy and that you haven’t been able to immerse yourself in because of college.

    – Austin Kleon recently made a list of advice for recent graduates. It’s worth a read http://austinkleon.com/2016/05/25/advice-for-the-graduate/

    – There’s also this article on how to find your place in the world after graduation http://www.nytimes.com/2015/05/31/opinion/sunday/how-to-find-your-place-in-the-world-after-graduation.html

    Think a lot, don’t think at all, make mistakes, make memories. There is no right or wrong path. There is only one life. Live it the way you want to.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my gosh. Thank you soooo much for this, Mugren. You have no idea what a huge help this is for me. I ask myself each day if I am capable of this reality. I might just find the answer to my ”What next?” after I read these articles. So thank you so much.

      ” There is no right or wrong path. There is only one life. Live it the way you want to.” – I must say that you give me that assurance I’ve been meaning to ask. You just made me feel like I can do anything I want. Thank you. Thank you. I will remember this.

      Like

What do you think about this post?

