You Can’t Make Everyone Happy, And That’s Okay

On nights when the dawn awaits to meet the rays of light, I think about people. They fascinate me. People, in general. Some go out in the wild and look for something. Some wake up at 1 pm,  eat and call it a breakfast. Some stay up all night and whine. Some makes a living at 3am. Some makes no living at all. Then I thought of the ones who do something for the sake of others. They make me sad.

I never understood how people can do things that does not make them happy. I could never do that, you know. I think it’s such a waste to throw your own happiness for someone else’s. What most people do not realize is that in 2, 3, 10 years the sacrifice they did for someone will not be remembered. Eventually, people will forget how you broke someone’s heart by telling him to ‘suck his balls’ just for your drunk friend. It’s going to pile up in the mountains of other people’s sacrifice for someone else’s. It will be there, stagnant, forgotten.

But hey, do you think all those hassle, embarrassment and wrong move was worth for all the things you’ve done for everyone other than yourself?

Sometimes, you just have to remind yourself that it’s better to make yourself happier than others, because you’re important too.

You only die once, might as well die smiling.

13 thoughts on “You Can’t Make Everyone Happy, And That’s Okay

  1. Once, about 2000 years ago, a dear friend left his beautiful home, family and top level job to live as a wanderer for 33 years. He was set up, arrested under false pretenses, and brutally abused by the authorities to the point of death.
    He did all that in a sacrifice just so I could go and move to his beautiful home and be free from all that he suffered.
    I promise you, I remember Him every day.

    Like

  2. everything in moderation. One of my favourite sayings is love your neighbour as you love yourself. Often we see the neighbour part and miss the as you love yourself part. Sometimes bringing happiness to someone else brings happiness to you in the process. Of course one should never do anything that causes them to become untrue to who they are and what they believe. Just my 2 cents. xo
    Diana

    Like

  3. “What most people do not realize is that in 2, 3, 10 years the sacrifice they did for someone will not be remembered” – but sometimes it will be. I am going through tests to donate 60% of my liver to my mom who needs a liver transplant. It is a sacrifice for me and the risk of death for me is 1 in 200, If everything is okay and the surgery goes ahead, I think it will be remembered.

    Like

  4. Hi Katrina, sorry I’ve been out of touch for a while, I been buried in my writing and working on my house.

    I love what you’ve written here and as always your insight is very refreshing.

    I have to agree with you on what you’re saying. After studying psychology for some time I discovered that I was neglecting myself by always trying to help others and that in helping others I was taking away the experience they needed to learn to help themselves. When you help other people directly they do not learn anything so they will just go on to make the same mistakes again and again. It is much better to simply advise them on what they might do to help themselves then leave them to get on with it.

    I do not think people forget the help they get but this depends on the level of help and the impact it has in their life though they do forget minor things.

    I love the way you write. I can feel what you feel and I cannot believe sometimes just how mature you are and how intelligent you are. I so wish I was your friend, although there is an age gap between us I know we would have some very deep discussions.

    James.

    Like

    1. I’m glad you’re back! I missed you contradicting and agreeing with my posts. Hahaha.

      Aww. I wish you were my friend too! We would have so many things to talk about. 🙂

      Welcome back, daffodilia.

      Like

  5. I do not know if I agree with this 100% but I do appreciate how you think. And I must say, “You only die once, might as well die smiling” may be one of the best and truest things I have read in a long while.

    Like

      1. I think you delivered perfectly other than to say that people do remember if people have helped them in a major way (well most of the time anyway).
        My situation at the moment requires me to ask for help from people close to me. I will repay this in time by being there for them because I will not forget the help they are offering at the moment but if I commit 30% of my salary to charitable works around the world or like I did 3 years ago help people trapped by human trafficking escape their situation, who will remember me for that?
        I used to run a social network where I helped people directly to escape real life exploitation but 3 years on and nobody believes me because the voices I helped have gone on with their lives and fallen silent. Having said that, I am sure anyone I actually helped to escape their situation may remember that at some time a Scotsman with nothing better to do changed their life forever in a positive way.
        Maybe individuals remember but not the masses because once the situation is resolved there is nothing left to talk about?

        Like

What do you think about this post?

