”How do you look at one person in the eye and tell yourself to walk away?”

You wont. You just walk away. You’re going to walk away because this time, you’re gonna do it for yourself – not for him, not for your friends, not for your family, not for anyone. It’s going to be hard, I tell you, but it’s going to be worth it. It’ll be worth more than the day you said ‘yes’, or the day when you sneaked out at 3 in the morning to meet him in his bed. It’ll be worth more than all the roses and butterflies in your belly he gave you, or the silly dates you had. Even more than the day you decide to give up your friends, family and yourself all for him. Or the moments you’re stripping every layer of pride for his forgiveness. It will hurt, but walking away is going to be worth it.

You’re going to walk away, because you’re important too.

20 thoughts on “

  1. OUt of the mouths of babes! Sometimes us older (supposedly) wiser ones need to take that advice too! Thanks for the reminder! Hey honey, take your own advice…. it will save you a whole lot of trouble in your old age.
    I am writing a book… hopefully to help young girls think…So when they are my age, they won’t be stuck back at when they were your age… trying to let go…. does that even make sense?
    Thanks for writing… each one gets better Keep it up! 😉 Oh yeah…. and take it from someone who knows…. YOU know what’s best for YOU. Do yourself a favor…. LET GO… or someday you will be looking for the YOU who you left behind…so many years ago…
    YOU really do have more power than he does.
    XOXO

    Like

    1. You’re right. We shouldn’t be scared to let go of something we love, but are losing ourselves to because when time comes you need to get yourself together, you’ll have a hard time finding it.

      I’d love to read your book, it seems like its a good one! Cheers. x

      Like

  2. Very deep and profound. I felt my heart ting a little bit while reading this remembering the movement I had to walk away in a past relationship. I thought it was the end of the world at the time. But it is the best thing that every happened to me both as an individual and for my relationship with others. I met my hubby and we have been going 6 years strong and it’s a completely healthy equal relationship.
    Great advice and great writing!

    Like

    1. Thank you for reading my post. I’m very flattered of the words you have just said, and I must say I’m very happy for the very wise decision you have made years ago. Heartbreak does pay a lot!

      Cheers!!

      Like

  3. I wish my friend Sue would read what you have written and understand that she too needs to follow your advice. On the flip side I can relate to it, turning “him” into “her” and maybe I should follow your advice if Sue does not. Thank you.

    Like

    1. Thank you, and you’re welcome.
      I guess the greatest tip I can give you for your own happiness is, do something for yourself, not for anybody else. I hope all is well! 🙂

      Like

  4. This was really empowering. I’m going through a similar situation and it’s so hard but eventually I’ll learn to let go and walk away – because we deserve more than what we settle for or what we get – thank you =)

    Like

What do you think about this post?

