On Great Writers

I am deeply fascinated of a writer who has troubles putting a glass of whiskey down, or going through a day without lighting a cigarette. Or the kind of writer who can’t fit another tattoo on his sleeve and live below the means of his living. Somehow, the kind of writers whose lifelines are within their addiction seemed to have louder intellectual voices than the ones who don’t. The kind of writers who was then a pest in his town, is now the great mind behind every penny of a thought. I could never write like that. I could never write a piece so great it moves every particle in your body. I don’t drink to the state of scribbling every beautiful and blurry thoughts at the back of a $12 receipt. I don’t smoke to blow imaginations out and pick them by pen and jot them down on a novel. I don’t have a tattoo nor have i ever experienced hunger and ultimate depression and heartbreak. I’ve lived a fortunate life and I suppose there is a certain level of sadness in that.

25 thoughts on “On Great Writers

  1. There is only sadness if you feel you would want attain something like that. There are also writers who have never drunk, who don’t smoke, who have never had a tattoo or even a piercing.

    Ultimately it is usually just one piece of literary genius that propels them to stardom and they are never aware enough to know what it is that has happened to them.

    Be yourself, and be happy with the fact that you ARE yourself.

    Like

  2. I’m a fortune teller. And by the way you wrote this, I sense you have already experienced heart break. A painful one which you really try to hide it within you. But deep inside it hurts so much that you try to cover it up with so many things. You may be heart broken a long time ago but it hasn’t healed yet. The wound and scars are still there. Time will heal it. Goodluck!

    Like

  3. Very Hemingwayesque, do we drink to write or do write because we drink? I think Alastair has a point in being yourself, so in this world of ‘pc’, writers probably continue to drink and smoke because that is who they are, which who they have to be, n’est pas? Great post by the way πŸ˜‰

    Like

  4. Well, I tried drinking and smoking, (still haven’t given them up) but so far, no joy. The rejection file glares at me every time I move the keyboard nearer. Heartbreaks and crises? Had them, too. My conclusion: to become a (maybe famous) writer, you have to have a moment of inspiration and a grain of pure passion. Giving life to words is a gift, and when you finish the last sentence it is the satisfied smile that means more than the publishing contract.
    Thanks, I enjoyed this post very much.

    Like

  5. Katrina, that shit aint all it’s cracked up to be. I’ve been writing stuff for awhile, had my first shit published while I was in prison, started with the needle and spoon before you were born. And now I’m old, an ex-addict for some years now, and sometimes people try to tell me I can capital-W Write or some crazy shit like that. But fact is, I’m working a job making subsistence level wages for me and my family and so what if I can write? I blew over half my life already trying to emulate Burroughs and Bukowski’s substance fueled lifestyles for the sake of “art” or whatever hare brained idea I had at the time.
    There’s nothing sad about you being fortunate. Roll with it. The truly sad cliche of the drunken/junked out literary genius is just that, a sad cliche. I’m like the opposite of any kind of genius, literary or otherwize, and I still wrecked my life and the lives of most everyone around me by getting wasted for like 25 years. I got lots of messed up stories out of it that I write and sometimes people think are bitchen…but really, really, was it worth it at all? Not a bit.

    Like

  6. Having read this pieace, I am persuaded to suspect we are not dealing with a 17 year old here. You seem so well read, so much experienced, like you have seen it all, like you have had a lifetime of sitting back and watching different characters play out their acts through out their lives. I might as well say the same comment about the post Date A Girl, it uncovers someone who has seen it all, but hiding behind the veil of 17 year old girl. Well, 17 years or not, your posts are mindblasts

    Like

    1. Thank you so much rabiro. Your words mean more than anything right now. I could say I’ve experienced and lived it all, but then I’d be telling a lie. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think about this post?

